National Press Club elects new executive committee

The National Press Club has elected its new executive committee and management team.

Jos Charle, a former chairman who recently joined Capital Media, has been elected chairperson of the National Press Club. Willem van der Putte, responsible for sport production and commercialisation at Independent Newspapers, has been re-elected deputy chairperson. Lali van Zuydam, press attaché at the Embassy of France in South Africa, was elected as the public relations officer. Martin van Niekerk of Junxion Communications was re-elected treasurer.

“It is an honour and an exceptional privilege to be entrusted with leading the National Press Club again,” Charle said.

They are joined by the elected executive committee members – general manager of the club Ben Rootman, Antoinette Slabbert of Moneyweb, freelance journalist and former chairperson Tanya De Vente-Bijker, senior producer at PowerFM Bongekile Skosana and Elaine Swanepoel of Rapport. The other members are Ntando Makhubu of the Pretoria News, Mosidi Mokgele of Absa and Reynold Thakhuli of SANParks. Herman Scholtz, news editor at Rapport, was re-appointed legal advisor to the club.

Jos Charle

“Our challenge remains to be relevant in the media industry while offering our members full value for their contributions through various projects including our networking forums, the Newsmaker of the Year and the Percy Qoboza memorial lecture. The conditions in which we currently operate offer a stiff challenge in terms of resources, but we have a history of making it through difficult times and I assure members that the National Press Club will remain an important player in the South African media landscape,” said Charle.

Lali van Zuydam
On behalf of the National Press Club
083 457 3809

Jos Charle
073 816 4483