National Press Club elects new Executive Committee

The National Press Club made history last week when three women were elected to the management positions of the club.

Tanya de Vente-Bijker, a freelance journalist, has been elected chairperson of the National Press Club. Simone Heradien, content manager at Rekord Newspaper has been elected deputy chairperson. Mandisa Mbele from the Competition Commission has been elected as the public relations officer. Martin Van Niekerk of Junxion Communications was re-elected treasurer.

“It is the first time in the history of the National Press Club that three women are elected to the management positions in the club,” de Vente-Bijker said. “We thank the club for the confidence placed in us and we believe we can move this club forward.”

Photo (from left): Simone Heradien, Tanya de Vente-Bijker, Mandisa Mbele

They are joined by the elected executive committee members Рformer chairperson and general manager of the club Ben Rootman, Antoinette Slabbert of Moneyweb, Corné van Zyl of the Rekord and Elaine Swanepoel of Rapport. The other members are Jos Charle and Ntando Makhubu of the Pretoria News, Mosidi Mokgele of Absa, Phillip Bruwer of Maroela Media, Reynold Thakhuli of SANParks, Willem van de Putte of The Star and William Baloyi from of the Claasens Board of Enquiry. Herman Scholtz, news editor at Rapport, was also elected to the committee and appointed legal advisor to the club. He completed his LLM (Information and Communications Law) at Wits University.

“I believe the National Press Club has a very important to role to play in our industry and in our country. In the coming months the new committee will look into different ways that the club can contribute positively towards the industry,” said de Vente-Bijker.

“We will also continue to provide the networking platform for journalists and public relations practitioners as well as host our various existing projects,” she said.

Mandisa Mbele
On behalf of the National Press Club
082 580 2213

Tanya de Vente-Bijker
072 267 0751