Executive Committee of National Press Club elected

Jos Charle, deputy editor of the Pretoria News, has been elected chairperson of the National Press Club for the third consecutive year.

Tanya de Vente-Bijker, freelance journalist, was re-elected as the deputy chairperson.

Other executive committee members are Martin van Niekerk of Junxion Communications, re-elected as treasurer and Mosidi Mokgele of Absa who was re-elected as public relations officer.

They are joined by the elected executive committee members for 2015/16, former chairman Ben Rootman (general manager of the club), Eddie Mojapelo of the SABC, Frans Machate of PINA News, Corné van Zyl of Rekord, freelance journalist Lisa Dewberry, Milisa Kentane of Transnet, Phillip Bruwer of Maroela Media, Reynold Thakhuli of SA National Parks, Willem van de Putte of the Star, Simone Heradien of Rekord and Elaine Swanepoel of Rapport.

Charle said over the past 38 years the club has positioned itself as a credible voice in the South African media environment and has continued to inspire its members through its various projects. These include the Journalist and Newsmaker of the Year award as well as the recognition of the role of the late editor of The World, Percy Qoboza, through its annual memorial lecture and a bursary scheme for an honours student in journalism at Unisa.

The National Press Club – North-West University Newsmaker of the Year for 2014 is the Oscar Pistorius trial. The newsmaker event will be held tomorrow (Friday, 15 May) at the CSIR International Convention Centre in Pretoria and during the same evening the National Press Club – North-West University Journalist of the Year will be announced. Justice Dikgang Moseneke, Deputy Chief Justice of South Africa, will be the guest speaker.

Charle said he hoped the National Press Club would strengthen its relationship with its stakeholders and continue to be a relevant voice in the media environment this year.