National Press Club invites entries for Journalist of the Year competition

The National Press Club is calling all members to enter the 2014 National Press Club – North-West University Journalist of the Year competition.

Thousands of Rands are up for grabs, with categories for online and social media and media liaison officer also part of the competition. An Editor of the Year can also be nominated.

Club Chairperson Jos Charle says the awards encourage excellent journalism and communication – and reward it.

“The journalism competition consists of 10 categories – in the print section the categories are News, Features and Photography. In the electronic media section the categories are Radio news, Radio in-depth features, TV news, TV in-depth features and TV cameraperson, with Online and Social Media the other two categories.

“Media liaison officers can nominate themselves or be nominated. We are looking at outstanding communication skills, accessibility, helpfulness and the like,” says Charle.

“Journalists can nominate the Editor of the Year. We are looking for an editor who is professional, efficient and bold and someone who displays outstanding leadership and excellence. It must be an editorial leader who has also acted in a fearless, innovative manner and brought vitality to the industry. The Editor of the Year serves on the discussion panel of the annual National Press Club-Unisa Percy Qoboza memorial lecture on 19 October.”

The club’s executive committee chooses the Editor and Media Liaison Officer of the Year from the nominations.

Every category winner will receive R5 000 sponsored by the North-West University. From the ten categories – excluding the media liaison officer and editor categories – an overall winner will be selected, who will win an additional R10 000.

“We are delighted that the university has once again come on board as a partner – for the seventh year. It is yet another indication of their commitment to recognising excellence.”

The panel of judges comprises of various independent experts and academics. The results are independently audited by the club’s auditors Nexia SAB&T.

Charle says this year the club has made entering easier as all entries can be submitted electronically.

Entry forms can be filled in online and all entries, including photographs and videos, can be uploaded. Entries close on Friday, 24 April.

The awards for 2014 will be presented at the annual National Press Club – North-West University Newsmaker of the Year function on 15 May.