Nelson Mandela honoured as National Press Club – North-West University Newsmaker of the Year for 2013

Nelson Mandela has been honoured as the National Press Club – North-West University Newsmaker of the Year for 2013.

National Press Club Chairperson Jos Charle said at the awards event in Pretoria this evening that both in terms of impact and media coverage Nelson Mandela dominated the news in 2013.

“We are not commemorating his death but celebrating the life of a world icon and legend, as well as his role as an international statesman.

“Nelson Mandela’s death riveted the attention of the world for 10 days. It consumed South Africans – and much of the world – as the country pulled out all stops to bury the father of the South African nation with military precision and ancient Xhosa customs.

“The world’s news media – television, radio and print media – extensively reported on Nelson Mandela’s life and his role in South Africa’s liberation struggle for weeks following his death.

“One hour after the announcement of his death, two million tweets were generated with over six million tweets recorded on 5 December, the day of his death. The hash tags #RIPNelsonMandela, #Madiba and #RIPMandela were the top three topics on the social network on that morning – at one stage 95 000 tweets per minute – more than 13 million over a month.

“The Nelson Mandela Facebook page gathered over 2,2 million likes and several posts, including tributes from the Nelson Mandela Foundation.

“Within minutes of the announcement, broadcast internationally, crowds of all hues began flocking to the former president’s home where they prayed, sang and laid flowers in front of the world’s media.

“Countries from the US to New Zealand joined South Africa in lowering their flags to half-mast and 91 heads of state attended the funeral, with 4 500 journalists from all over the world covering the funeral. South African broadcast houses ran only “Madiba” programmes for more than ten days.

“Add to this the fact that for 86 days last year the world’s media camped outside the Medi-Clinic Heart hospital in Pretoria where Mandela had been admitted for a recurring lung infection, and it becomes clear that he generated huge media interest – both nationally and internationally.”

Charle says in February – the month day he was released from Victor Verster Prison – Mandela became the first non-Briton to be honoured with a memorial service at Westminster Abbey – the iconic venue that has been the coronation church for every British monarch since 1066 and the burial place of 17 royals.

“The best known black man in the world and probably the most photographed man in the world certainly leaves behind a living legacy – truly a man for all seasons.”

Charle says the award is made on the grounds of impact, news value and media attention in electronic, print, online and social media.

Prof Herman van Schalkwyk, Vice-Principal of the North-West University said it is of utmost importance that we continue to acknowledge media freedom and encourage independence and high standards of ethical journalism. “This is the quest for truth in the public interest and appropriate accountability. We salute this endeavour by the National Press Club to raise the bar when it comes to the standards of journalism.”

The club is synonymous with the Newsmaker of the Year award. Over the years the club has recognised and awarded many newsmakers. Previous recipients include President Jacob Zuma, former presidents FW de Klerk, Nelson Mandela and Thabo Mbeki. Other newsmakers include Hollywood star Charlize Theron, Zachie Achmat and the Treatment Action Campaign, the late Hansie Cronj� and various other sporting personalities, DA Leader Helen Zille, ESKOM and Cope and FIFA’s Sepp Blatter and Danny Jordaan also received the award in recent years. Other recipients were Thuli Madonsela and Julius Malema. Last year the award went to the South African rhino.

Journalist of the Year announced

The winners in the National Press Club-North-West University Journalist of the Year competition were also announced at the function. For the first time in the history of the competition, the overall winner was a television cameraperson, the late Dudley Saunders of Carte Blanche.

The winners in the print categories were Botho Molosankwe of The Star (news), Mia Malan of the Mail & Guardian (features) and Paballo Thekiso of The Saturday Star (photography).

The winners in the electronic media categories were Alex Eliseev of Eyewitness News (radio news), Melini Moses of the SABC (radio features), Dani�lla van Heerden of eNCA (television news), Kate Barry of Carte Blanche (television features) and Dudley Saunders of Carte Blanche (television cameraperson).

The winner in the online media category was Christa Eybers of Eyewitness News.

The media liaison officer of the year was Nandi Mokoena of the Competition Tribunal and the editor of the year was Ryk van Niekerk of Moneyweb.