Executive committee of National Press Club elected

Jos Charle, Pretoria News’ Executive Editor, has been elected chairperson of the National Press Club for the second consecutive year.

Tanya de Vente-Bijker, freelance journalist, was re-elected as the deputy chairperson.

Other executive committee members are Martin van Niekerk of Junxion Communications, re-elected as treasurer, and Mosidi Mokgele of Absa who was elected as public relations officer.

They are joined by the elected executive committee members for 2014/15, former chairman Ben Rootman (general manager of the club), Eddie Mojapelo of the SABC, freelance journalist Doreen Gough, Frans Machate of PINA News, Corn� van Zyl of Rekord, freelance journalist Lisa Dewberry, Milisa Kentane of the SA Forestry Company, Phillip Bruwer of Maroela Media, Reynold Thakhuli of SA National Parks, Willem van de Putte of the Star, freelance journalist Roy Devenish and Yolanda Barnard of Rapport.

Charle said over the past years the club has positioned itself as a voice in the South African media space and has continued to inspire its members through its various programmes. These include the Journalist and Newsmaker of the Year award as well as the recognition of the role of the late editor of The World, Percy Qoboza, through its annual memorial lecture and a bursary scheme for an honours student in journalism at Unisa.

The National Press Club holds regular media briefings to create a platform for newsmakers to be accessible to all media, including small, community radio stations and newspapers.

“I am honoured that this appointment comes at a time when the National Press Club is about to celebrate the life of the world’s iconic leader, Nelson Mandela, who was voted Newsmaker of the Year for 2013.

“We are pleased to recognise and celebrate Madiba’s life, contributions and achievements. We are also delighted to have received cooperation from the Nelson Mandela Foundation,” Charle said.

The event to honour Mandela will be held tomorrow (Thursday, 29 April) at the CSIR International Convention Centre and during the same evening the National Press Club – North-West University Journalist of the Year will be announced.

Charle said he hoped the National Press Club would strengthen its relationship with its stakeholders and continue to be a relevant voice in the media environment this year.