Executive editor of Pretoria News to lead National Press Club

Jos Charle, an executive editor of the Pretoria News, has been elected unanimously as new chairperson of the National Press Club.

This follows the recent election of a new executive committee, comprising of Martin van Niekerk of Junxion Communications, re-elected as treasurer and Congress Mahlangu of the Land Bank who was elected as public relations officer.

Other committee members include general manager Ben Rootman of Junxion Communications, Tanya de Vente-Bijker, freelancer and responsible for social media, An� Roux of Rekord Newspaper, Antoinette Slabbert of Sake24, Frans Machate of PINA News, Gerhard Pretorius of eNCA, Herman Scholtz of Huisgenoot, Lisa Dewberry, freelancer, Mosidi Mokgele of Absa, Phillip Bruwer of Maroela Media, Roy Devenish, freelancer and Willem van de Putte of The Star.

“It is a great honour to be elected chairperson of the National Press Club,” said Charle.

“I have in the past acted in various positions of leadership in the club I am so passionate about. I am accepting the position with humility and promise to discharge my responsibility with dedication.”

He said over the past years the club has positioned itself as a credible voice in the South African media space and has continued to inspire many people through its various programmes. These include the Journalist and Newsmaker of the Year award as well as the recognition of the role of late editor of The World, Percy Qoboza, through its annual memorial lecture and bursary scheme.

“I am proud that we are making a positive contribution and that we are growing in leaps and bounds. I hope to, together with the elected executive, fulfill our members’ wishes and to carry out their mandate to the fullest. One of the challenges we face is to continue to be relevant to the people we represent and to act and react to their needs accordingly,” said Charle.