INDABA Newsletter | January 2013

Networking forums

Thank you very much to Kumba Iron Ore for hosting the press club’s last networking forum of 2012 on 29 November. As always, the evening was informative, with great hospitality from the Kumba team.

We look forward to seeing members at our regular monthly networking forums throughout 2013. Watch this space for exciting announcements!

Also visit the press club’s Facebook page for further announcements.

Rhino remains 2012 newsmaker

“The National Press Club confirms its decision to make the South African rhino its Newsmaker of the Year for 2012,” says club Chairperson Antoinette Slabbert.

“We have taken note of the huge interest in the announcement. This includes criticism on Twitter and the support in News24 comments and media polls. However, as mentioned in our announcing statement, we believe our judging criteria are sound and our decision well considered. There is no substantive reason to reconsider.”

Slabbert says the rhino received consistent news coverage throughout 2012 – reported by most media channels at least every second or third day.

“The rhino is more than a conservation story. It cuts across all environmental, social, population, economic and tourism boundaries. For example, poor communities are sucked into the plight of rhino poaching while the kingpins count their earnings in other countries.

“Many worthy suggestions for the newsmaker award were made, including the Marikana massacre. The nominations are judged in terms of news value and impact, and the amount of media coverage created by the nominees. We acknowledge Marikana as probably the biggest news event – tragic and shocking. However, it occurred only late last year.

“It is not a merit, celebratory or emotional award. It is not merely a matter of considering the number of nominations received for a specific nominee – nominations are evaluated and discussed in-depth, taking all factors into account.

“The process entails a call for nominations to the club’s members, after which these are evaluated and discussed, and voted for if necessary, by the club’s exco members. The exco consists of journalists and communications practitioners working in the media environment.”

She says as is the case with many associations, sponsorships are raised to host a presentation event.

“Our sponsorship criteria determine that the naming sponsor has no insight or influence over the nomination and decision process. It also does not sit on the adjudicating panel.

“Aon South Africa has been the naming sponsor for four years. The organisation has been a model sponsor in the true sense of the word with no interference in the selection process whatsoever.

“We fully realise that there is no single correct answer. We welcome open, two-way debate and constructive criticism. There is obviously room to differ. However, to say that the club is ill-informed and not in touch with the South African society as some critics stated, is mischievous. Difference of opinion does not create a crisis,” says Slabbert. She thanked members for their support.

The date of the newsmaker event will be announced soon.

Press club continues to host newsmakers

Since the beginning of 2013 the National Press Club as hosted three high profile media briefings.

On 16 January we hosted Sport and Recreation Minister Fikile Mbalula, who briefed media on the state of readiness for the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations.

The Deputy Auditor-General, Kimi Makwetu released the findings of a performance audit on how government departments are using external consultants, and the Municipal Demarcation Board elaborated on its intention to re-determine municipal boundaries and the process it will embark upon to do so.

A number of briefings are in the pipeline, details of which will be announced soon.

Taco Kuiper Award for investigative journalism open for entries

The seventh annual Taco Kuiper Award, which celebrates outstanding examples of investigative journalism published or broadcast by South African media, is open for entries. The winner will receive a prize of R200 000 and the runner-up will receive R100 000.

The award is open to print, broadcast and online journalists, or teams of up to three journalists, who have covered a single story or a series of related stories dealing with events and issues affecting South Africa. The entry must have been published or broadcast during 2012.

The deadline for entries is Wednesday, 20 February 2013 at 14:00 and the awards ceremony will be held on Friday, 5 April 2013.

In addition to the award, Taco Kuiper Grants are available to encourage investigative journalism in South African print media.

For more information or to enter visit

Taco Kuiper was a highly successful South African publisher who left a significant part of his estate to the promotion of investigative journalism. He believed that exposing matters of public concern which those scrutinised would not want to see disclosed was an important enterprise. It was for this reason that Kuiper, shortly before his death in September 2004, set up a fund for investigative journalism within The Valley Trust. The trust has partnered with the Wits Journalism Programme to administer the Taco Kuiper Award.

Welcome to new press club members

The National Press Club welcomes the following new members:

Sandile Ngidi – Brand South Africa, Sanusha Reddy – Denel Dynamics, Lebogang Manganye – Independent Regulatory Board for Auditors, Thokozile Mkhonza – student, Frikkie Gous – Life Med Ambulance Services, Ramatamo Sehoai – Alex Pioneer/Alex FM, Unathi Mbanya – Coca-Cola Shanduka Beverages, Choarelo Shinners – Financial Planning Institute of South Africa and Yolanda Barnard – Sondag.

We hope to see you at a networking forum soon!

See you at emBARgo

Members are reminded about happy hour at the press club bar emBARgo, every Friday from 17:00 to 19:00. The bar is in the cellar of the Orange Restaurant in the Court Classique Hotel, corner of Beckett and Francis Baard (previously Schoeman) Streets, Arcadia.

Membership fees now payable

Press club members will have received their membership invoices for 2013 from the secretariat.

Membership fees are R220 for full members, R350 for associate members and R150 for student members.

Members are requested to use their invoice number as reference when payment is done, so that it can be picked up easily by the secretariat.


Please send any news, suggestions or information for this newsletter to Martin van Niekerk at the secretariat on, 082 257 0305. Website | Facebook | Twitter