INDABA Newsletter | June/July 2012

Networking forum

Thank you very much to the South African Nuclear Energy Corporation Limited for hosting the club’s networking forum at the end of June. It was a very informative evening!
Elliot Mulane, Manager: Communication & Media at Necsa addressed press club members in June.
Our next networking forum will be hosted by the Association of Maritime and Defence on Thursday, 26 July at 18:00 for 18:30 – venue to be announced. Among others, particulars of the upcoming Africa Aerospace and Defence exhibition – the largest exhibition of air, sea and land capabilities in Africa – will be announced. Members should please check their e-mails and the press club’s Facebook page for further announcements. We look forward to seeing you there!

Rotary Club honours press club chairman

The Morningside Rotary Club recently gave top honours to some of the media’s most influential people for the work they’ve done to unite and strengthen South Africa through the LeadSA initiative. Terry Volkwyn, CEO of Primedia Broadcasing and Yusuf Abramjee, head of corporate affairs and communications of Primedia, chairman of the National Press Club and head of Crime Line, received the Paul Harris Fellowship Award. This is the highest award that a Rotary Club can bestow, named after the founder of Rotary International. They share the honour with distinguished South Africans such as Miriam Makeba, Albertina Sisulu, Beyers Naude, Helen Suzman and Issie Kirsh. Abramjee saluted Rotary International for the good work it did and said: “In two years LeadSA has made its mark, but it’s not about the rewards and recognition, it must come from the heart. Even if you change the life of only one person, you’ve still made a difference.” Tony Howard, chief executive of Independent News and Media was also awarded.
Terry Volkwyn and Yusuf Abramjee – recipients of the Paul Harris Fellowship Award.

Environmental Media & Environmentalist Awards open to public nominations

Nominations for the SAB Environmental Media & Environmentalist of the Year Awards 2012 are extended this year to the public, who may also nominate those members of the media who excel in highlighting natural and ecological matters, urban concerns or green and brown issues. Entries open at 08:00 on 1 August and close at 17:00 on Friday, 17 August. The winners will be announced at an awards breakfast on 27 September. Robyn Chalmers, corporate communications head for SAB says the awards entry process is moving online this year. “This means that entrants can register and upload their entries on the awards portal and our judges can login, download and score. The entire system will be audited to ensure transparency and will be much simpler for all.” Members of the public, media and the environmental awareness fraternity will be invited to e-mail through the names of those they believe should win this accolade. Nominations can be sent to

Club news

Members are reminded to diarise the annual Percy Qoboza memorial lecture, which will take place on Friday, 19 October 2012. Hosted by the National Press Club and the UNISA Department of Communication Science, the lecture commemorates Black Wednesday of 1977. Members are reminded about happy hour at the press club bar emBARgo, every Friday from 17:00 to 19:00. The bar is in the cellar of the Orange Restaurant in the Court Classique Hotel, corner of Beckett and Frances Baard (previously Schoeman) Streets, Arcadia.

New members

The National Press Club welcomes the following new members and hopes to see them at club events soon: Ismail Variava – Radio Islam, Thobile Mathonsi – Pretoria News, Peter Morey – Peter Morey Photographic, Vered Moalusi – MSP Africa, Tshidi Mapole – Department of Correctional Services, Salvation Mokgatlhe – Public Protector, Ella Hlumelo – Carousel Casino, Desiray Viney – University of KwaZulu-Natal, Tshepiso Gcabo – South African Weather Service, Oriel Nemukula – Sekhukhune District Municipality, Charl de Klerk – SA National Defence Force, Thapelo Sakoana – Department of Social Development, Nicolas-Patience Basabose – LeCongolais, Qaanitah Hunter – Channel Islam International, Vhutshilo Dombo – Northern Media Group, Phumudzo Ratshinanga – student.


Please send any news, suggestions or information for this newsletter to Martin van Niekerk at the secretariat on, 082 257 0305. Website | Facebook | Twitter