INDABA Newsletter | April 2012

Networking forum

Thank you very much to the National Zoological Gardens of South Africa for hosting the club’s networking forum and Annual General Meeting on 29 March. As always, the hospitality was great and the setting very special!

Our next networking forum will be hosted by the National Science and Technology Forum on 25 April – please diarise it and watch this space for details.

Newsmaker event a coup for press club

The National Press Club � Aon South Africa Newsmaker of the Year event on 23 March was, without a doubt, one of the top events that the capital city will see this year.

It was a coup for the National Press Club when newsmakers Thuli Madonsela, the Public Protector, and Julius Malema, expelled ANC Youth League President shared the stage.

From left � Aon South Africa CEO Anton Roux, newsmakers Thuli Madonsela and Julius Malema, and press club chairperson Yusuf Ambramjee

Aon South Africa CEO Anton Roux said the Newsmaker of the Year award is an opportunity to recognise the courage and the commitment of the media and ordinary South Africans to ensure that our hard won press freedom remains intact. “It allows us to impress upon each and every journalist the enormous responsibility they have in ensuring that as citizens, we can continue to believe what we read and hear in the news.”

The awards evening was held at the CSIR International Convention Centre and was attended by 420 guests.

Barry is the Journalist of the year

Barry Bateman of Eyewitness News was named the National Press Club � North-West University Journalist of the Year for 2011.

He was awarded for his perseverance, notion for factually correct reporting and for working under tremendous deadline pressure. His tenacity with the story on the Tshwane Metro Police’s use of vehicles with false number plates is a prime example of excellence in journalism, said the judges.

From left � Theuns Eloff, Vice Chancellor of North-West University, Barry Bateman and press club chairperson Yusuf Abramjee.

The category winners were:

  • Print news � Thabiso Thakali of the Saturday Star
  • Print features � Jane Vorster of YOU magazine
  • Photography � Craig Nieuwenhuizen of Foto24
  • Radio news � Barry Bateman, Eyewitness News
  • Radio features � Thebeetsile Keameditse of the SABC
  • Television news � Lirandzu Themba of eTV
  • Television features � Odette Schwegler and Nicola de Chaud of Carte Blanche
  • Television cameraperson � Tutuko Zondi of eTV
  • Online media � Taurai Maduna of Eyewitness News
  • Social media � Mandy Wiener of Eyewitness News
  • Media Liaison Officer of the Year � McIntosh Polela of the Hawks
  • Editor of the Year � Nic Dawes of the Mail & Guardian

The inaugural National Press Club � Proudly South African award was made jointly to the SABC’s Touching Lives and Primedia’s Lead SA.

Theuns Eloff, Vice-Chancellor of the North West University congratulated all the winners. “We trust that our contribution adds to the ongoing roll of excellence currently evident on the South African media scene.”

The judges in this year’s competition were Charles Naud�, media consultant and veteran journalist, Cornia Pretorius, senior journalism lecturer at North-West University, Gilbert Mokwatedi, communications practitioner at Unisa, Peter Morey, veteran photographer, Marion Scher, award winning freelance journalist, Natalia Rosa, social media specialist, Pluto Panoussis, lecturer at the Open Window School for Visual Communication and Tshamano Makhadi, award winning journalist.

Membership fees � a reminder

Thank you to the many members of the National Press Club who have already paid their membership fees for the year.

Members who have not yet paid their fees are reminded to do so as soon as possible and to use their names or invoice numbers as reference.

Members are also reminded that there are still some ‘Black Tuesday’ T-shirts available from the secretariat at R60 each. Contact Charmaine on 082 257 0305 or

Club news

At the club’s recent Annual General Meeting, veteran members Doreen Gough, Roy Devenish and Ben Rootman were made honorary members of the club. This membership type is provided for in the club’s constitution.

From left – Press club chairperson Yusuf Abramjee congratulated honorary members Ben Rootman, Roy Devenish and Doreen Gough
on their new membership status and thanked them for many years of dedication to the club.

New members

The National Press Club welcomes the following new members and hopes to see them at club events soon:

Sarah Coughlan, Martmarie van den Berg, Eleanor van Zuydam, Marthe Kotze, Mandisa Mbele, Reinart Toerien and Thato Rampai � student members, Marenet Jordaan � University of Pretoria, Thabo Mkhize, Technology Innovation Agency, Simangazo Sithole � GCIS, Odette Schwegler � Backyard Productions, Janos Bozsik � Malnor, Rajiv Kamal � Unisa, Thembisile Makgalemele � Drum, Kate Berry � Carte Blanche and Christine Burrows � FNB.


Please send any news, suggestions or information for this newsletter to Martin van Niekerk at the secretariat on, 082 257 0305. Website | Facebook | Twitter