National Press Club � North-West University Journalist of the Year competition open

Entries for the annual National Press Club � North-West University Journalist of the Year competition for 2011 are open.

Club Chairperson Yusuf Abramjee says the club encourages excellence in journalism and communication.

“The importance of the role of the media in South Africa cannot be underestimated and in this way the club ensures an even higher standard of reporting. We trust that all media houses will participate as there have been many examples of outstanding journalism over the past year.”

The National Press Club � North-West University’s overall Journalist of the Year winner receives R10 000, while each category winner receives R5 000, sponsored by North-West University.

“We are honoured to again partner with the National Press Club in this venture,” says North-West University Vice-Chancellor and Principal, Prof Theuns Eloff.

“We salute this endeavour of the club to raise the bar when it comes to journalism standards. Freedom of the media is one of the cornerstones of a democracy. If the National Press Club � North-West University Journalist of the Year award can assist in further improving the quality of journalism in our country, it will have served its purpose. The university’s three schools of communication are renowned for its training in this vital science. I believe we are adding value to this award,” says Eloff.

The competition comprises 12 categories � the print categories are news, features and photography. The electronic categories are radio news, radio in-depth features/interviews, television news, television in-depth features/interviews, television cameraperson, online and social media.

The last two categories are Media Liaison Officer and Editor of the Year. The attributes for Media Liaison Officer of the Year include outstanding communication skills, accessibility, and helpfulness. Entrants can be nominated or enter themselves. Journalists are invited to nominate the Editor of the Year. The editor should be professional, efficient and be fearless in tackling current issues and should display outstanding leadership and excellence.

The executive committee will choose the winner in the Media Liaison Officer and Editor of the Year.

Abramjee says the panel of judges comprises various independent experts and academics.

“We appeal to journalists, photographers, presenters, producers and media liaison officers to enter the competition.”

The closing date is Friday, 24 February 2012 and the winners will be announced at the club’s annual Newsmaker of the Year awards function on 23 March.

The guidelines and rules of the competition have been circulated to all newsrooms and are also available on the club’s website.