Abramjee re-elected Chairperson of National Press Club

Yusuf Abramjee, Primedia Broadcasting’s Head of News and Current Affairs, has been reelected as chairperson of the National Press Club for the third consecutive year. This follows the election of a new executive committee for the club.

Jos Charle, Executive Editor of the Pretoria News was re-elected as the deputy chairperson. Martin van Niekerk of Junxion Communications was re-elected as the treasurer and Tanya de Vente-Bijker, freelance journalist, was re-elected as the public relations officer.

They are joined by the elected executive committee members for 2011 – Antoinette Slabbert of Sake 24, Herman Scholtz of Rapport, Graeme Hosken of Pretoria News, former chairman Ben Rootman, Elizabeth Kruger of the Daily Sun, Annemarie van Burick of the SABC, Zelda Venter of the Pretoria News, Doreen Gough of Unisa, Edwin Tshivhidzo of BuaNews, Frans Machate of Pina News and Mosidi Mokgele of Absa.

Abramjee thanked the National Press Club for the confidence they had placed in him by electing him as chairperson. “The press club has in the last few years re-established itself as an important networking platform and will continue to do so. The membership is very strong and growing,” he says.

According to Abramjee the club will continue to ensure that newsmakers use the National Press Club to interact with the media and the South African public.

Abramjee served as chairperson of the National Press Club from 2000 until 2003. He was the first person of colour at the time to be elected chairperson. He is the Group Head of News and Current Affairs at Primedia Broadcasting, the head of Corporate Affairs/Communication at Primedia as well as the head of Crime Line.

Junxion Communications will continue to serve as secretariat of the club.