INDABA Newsletter | March 2011

Networking forum

Thank you to Absa for hosting the club’s networking forum on 24 March. The forum coincided with the Annual General Meeting and it was a most enjoyable evening.

Report-back at the Annual General Meeting – from left – Martin van Niekerk, Treasurer, Jos Charle, Deputy Chairman, Yusuf Abramjee, Chairman and Tanya de Vente-Bijker, PRO.
Happy Ralinala of Absa addressed members at the March networking forum.

April’s networking forum will be an evening with a difference. It will be held on Saturday, 30 April at the Carousel Casino north of Pretoria, with a performance by ZamaJoe � definitely an event not be missed! Particulars will be announced soon.

Newsmaker event a football feast

The National Press Club has hosted a number of newsmakers over the past few weeks.

The National Press Club � Aon South Africa 2010 Newsmaker of the Year event on 14 March was a veritable football feast.

Held at the SA Reserve Bank Conference Centre, flags of countries that participated in the 2010 FIFA World Cup welcomed guests and the familiar sound of vuvuzelas could be heard throughout the evening. The menu was just as much fun, with dishes typical of South Africa, Spain, the Netherlands, Germany and Uruguay.

FIFA Secretary-General received the award on behalf of FIFA President Sepp Blatter, while Danny Jordaan, CEO of the Local Organising Committee received the award in person.

Press club chairman Yusuf Abramjee said the annual newsmaker award is made on the grounds of impact, news value and media attention. “FIFA and the Local Organising Committee did us and the world proud and we salute our newsmakers.”

Members of the National Press Club exco with the 2010 Newsmakers of the Year, J�rome Valcke of FIFA (on behalf of Sepp Blatter) and Danny Jordaan, and Tshwane�s Executive Mayor Kgosientso Ramokgopa.

Journalist of the Year � winners announced

The National Press Club � North-West University Journalist of the Year winners were announced at the recent Newsmaker event.

The overall Journalist of the Year for 2010 is Graeme Hosken of the Pretoria News, who was also the winner in the category Print Media � in-depth features for his Haiti portfolio and a joint winner in the category Print media � news for ‘City tender can of worms’ and ‘Tshwane Metro Police.’

The category winners are:

  • Media Liaison Officer of the Year � Barbara Jensen for the Gautrain project
  • Print media � news � Graeme Hosken, Mogomotsi Magome and Patrick Hlahla for ‘City tender can of worms’ and ‘Tshwane Metro Police’
  • Print media � photography � Masi Losi of the Pretoria News
  • Electronic media � radio news � Mandy Wiener of Eyewitness News for ‘Lolly Jackson’
  • Electronic media � in-depth features � Melini Moses of SAfm for ‘Out of pocket’
  • Electronic media � TV news � Mia Willemse of eNuus for ‘Renoster’ and ‘Danville’
  • Electronic media � TV in-depth features � Joy Summers and Bernadette Cook of Carte Blanche for ‘Acid mine drainage’ and ‘The rhino files’ respectively
  • Electronic media � online � Taurai Maduna of Eyewitness News for ‘Jub Jub protests’

Ferial Haffajee of City Press was named Editor of the Year.

Congratulations also to Herman Scholtz of Rapport, Mandy Wiener of Eyewitness News and Julie-Anne Reid of Carte Blanche for being commended in their respective categories.

Dr Theuns Eloff, Vice-Chancellor of the North-West University said: “As a university that has a long-standing involvement in the training of journalists, we sincerely believe that the quality of the South African media is comparable to the best offered in the rest of the world. In light hereof, congratulations to all the winners of tonight’s prestigious awards � your determination, continuous hard work and dedication bear testimony of your commitment to your profession.

“It is of the utmost importance that we continue to acknowledge media freedom, independence, high standards of ethical journalism and an on-going quest for truth. The NWU will continue to support you fully in this noble endeavour.”

New members

The National Press Club welcomes the following new members and hopes to see them at club events soon:

Clement Motsepe � freelance, Annemarie Bijker � student, Cecile Vigneav and Matthew Wate � Embassy of France, Eugene Botha � It’s a Wrap Productions, Marc Lewis � Eyewitness News, Fanie van Rooyen � Beeld, Mandy Wiener, Colin Cullis and Aletta Gardner � Primedia Broadcasting, Taurat Maduna � Eyewitness News, Achieve Ubisi � Unisa, Lisa Dewberry � Eastern Times/Northern Times, Peter Groenewald � Active Blue Productions, Erita Santosa � Cap-Net International, Marcus Motlhatlhedi � Dept of Public Enterprises, Sana Ebrahim � Al-Ansaar Foundation, Shireen Mohamed and Kim Hawkey � Law Society of SA, Kallie Kriel of Afriforum, Ludwe Fani – Business Connexion, Mohammed Asad � Apna News TV, Elizabeth Trudeau – US diplomatic mission to SA and Dot Field – Dot Field Consulting.


Please send any news, suggestions or information for this newsletter to Martin van Niekerk at the secretariat on, +27 (0)12 804 5199. Visit the website at