New National Press Club exco announced

Yusuf Abramjee, Primedia Broadcasting’s Head of News and Current Affairs, has been re-elected chairperson of the National Press Club. This follows the election of a new executive committee for the club. Jos Charle, Executive Editor of the Pretoria News was re-elected as the deputy chairperson. Martin van Niekerk of Junxion Communications was re-elected as the treasurer and Tanya de Vente-Bijker, freelance journalist, was re-elected as the public relations officer. At the National Press Club’s Annual General Meeting recently, various members were elected to the executive committee. Antoinette Slabbert of Sake 24, Edwin Tshivhidzo of BuaNews, Herman Scholtz of Rapport, Andries Cornelissen of Jacaranda 94.2 and Graeme Hosken of Pretoria News were welcomed on the committee. The other committee members are former chairman Ben Rootman, Phillip Bruwer of Rekord newspaper, Elizabeth Kruger of the Daily Sun, Annemarie van Burick of the SABC and Zelda Venter of the Pretoria News. Co-opted executive committee members will be appointed at the committee’s next meeting in May. Abramjee thanked the National Press Club for the confidence they had placed in him by electing him as chairperson. “The press club has in the last year re-established itself as an important networking platform and will continue to do so. The membership is very strong and growing,” he says. According to Abramjee the club will continue to ensure that the newsmakers use the National Press Club to interact with the media and the South African public. Abramjee served as chairperson of the National Press Club from 2000 until 2003. He was the first person of colour at the time to be elected chairperson. Junxion Communications will continue to serve as secretariat of the club.

Released by: Martin van Niekerk
Secretariat: National Press Club
Tel 012 804 5199
Enquiries: Yusuf Abramjee, chairperson, cell 082 441 4203
Tanya de Vente-Bijker, PRO, cell 072 267 0751
Date: 8 April 2010